VACSB Committees 2020-2021

Public Policy Committee

Chair: Mary Cole, Cumberland Mountain CSB

  • Advocates for public policy and coordinates legislative activities at the state and national levels
  • Collaborates with strategic partners in public policy advocacy
  • Assists CSB/BHAs in utilizing relationships with local and state elected officials in support of the VACSB mission
Services Development Committee

Chair: Debbie Bonniwell, Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare

  • Addresses broad-based and specific services issues, recommends action regarding these issues to the VACSB, and upon approval, implements actions
  • Develops and/or considers services models and standards and makes recommendation to the VACSB Board of Directors
Regulatory Committee

Chair: OPEN

  • Addresses and proposes solutions on issues of a regulatory nature with DBHDS and DMAS on all areas of Human Rights, Licensure, Medicaid regulations and Medicaid service manuals
Development and Training Committee

Chair: Ivy Sager, Hanover County CSB

  • Brings best practices development and training to VACSB for staff and CSB/BHA Board Members for the VACSB May Development and Training Conference, as well as other events.
Administrative Policy Committee

Chair: Ellen Harrison, Harrisonburg-Rockingham CSB


  • * Performance Contract
  • Addresses policy matters with partnership agencies, including DBHDs, the State Board and other key stakeholders, including policy review, interpretation and comment, performance contracting, core services taxonomy and other issues of a policy nature.
  • Provides consultation for statewide Association contracts, guide training on important administrative and operational topics, and collaborate with other committees as required.
Finance Committee

Chair: Lisa Diggs, Henrico Area Mental Health

  • Proposes annual VACSB budget and future budget plans
  • Assesses all resources of the VACSB in order to fulfill the workplan of the Association
  • Recommends financial resource strategies to the Board of Directors and the Association
Technical Administration Committee

Chair: Daryl Washington, Fairfax-Falls Church CSB


  • * IT and Data Management Committee
  • * Survey Review Subcommittee
  • * Quality Assurance Subcommittee
  • * Human Resources Subcommittee
  • * Finance Subcommittee
  • Addresses broad-base and operational issues important to all members.
  • Recommends action to the VACSB and, upon approval, implements actions.
  • Issues include, but are not limited to, quality assurance, data management, internal and external survey review, CSB financial issues, human resources, licensure and evaluation.
  • Data Management Subcommittee will serve as liaison with DBHDS on data collection and reporting issues.
VACSB Charter Groups
  • Virginia Association of Community Psychiatrists (VACP)
    • MH Council Pathway
  • Virginia Association of Community Psychiatric Nurses (VACPN)
    • MH Council Pathway

Other constituency groups may apply for charter recognition by contacting VACSB at 804.330.3141 or